The Stepford Wives (1975) 🏡👰🤖

“I won’t be here when you get back, don’t you see?”

Bad Critic
1 min readAug 11, 2023

I truly love this movie, even though it’s wildly upsetting. I appreciate all the subtle instances of misogyny that are incorporated into every scene. The men in particular are so evasive with their emotions (and the obvious other stuff), and seem unable to express themselves in any kind of straight forward way. Anna Hill Johnstone’s costume design is particularly interesting! Johnstone’s work on 1972’s The Godfather earned her an Oscar nomination, and here she does a great job of using clothing to showcase the women’s personalities before they are “assimilated”. Katherine Ross is so lovely, I want every outfit she wears, and Paula Prentiss delivers a perfect performance — she’s funny and heartbreaking exactly when it counts. I root for them every time I watch, and I’m always devastated at the end.
*
*
*
#horror #stepford #thestepfordwives
#feminism #slowburn #film #filmmaking #filmmaker #filmisnotdead #films #filming #filmcamera #filmcommunity #filmmakers #filmproduction #filmlife #filmisalive #filmsnotdead #filmforever #filmshoot #filmaker #filmproducer #filmmakinglife #filmphotographer #movierecommendation #moviereview

--

--

Bad Critic

Death to Auteur theory | Indie & horror film analysis