Little Shop of Horrors (1986)

“FEED ME”

Bad Critic
1 min readAug 11, 2023

Look, I don’t know why I decided to watch this. I had a whole schedule of monster movies planned for this week, but that’s all out the window cuz I randomly decided to watch this and now I’m all fucked up. I don’t know if it’s brilliant or terrible. It’s definitely got a villainous plant whose black-coded and weirdly horny while a bunch of white people co-opt motown music. Maybe it’s also got some deeper message about consumerism?! It’s absolutely got an unhinged musical number about a sadistic dentist that is permanently burned into my brain and why is Bill Murray there?? The gonzo ending left me speechless. All I want to know is — how much cocaine was consumed on this set? Like, ballpark, what was the coke budget?

Apparently they are remaking this with Chris Evans as the Dentist and Billy Porter as Audrey II. I dunno man. I just don’t know.
*
*
*
#isthisracist #littleshopofhorrors #camp #horror #monstermovie #frankoz #gonzo #stevemartin #billmurray #film #filmmaking #filmmaker #cinemaphile #films #filming #filmcamera #filmcommunity #filmmakers #filmproduction #filmlife #cinematography #musical #musicaltheatre #filmshoot #billyporter #filmproducer #chrisevans #filmphotographer #movierecommendation #moviereview

--

--

Bad Critic

Death to Auteur theory | Indie & horror film analysis